Noob questions

Kerfuffle

Jul 5, 2011
Visit site
Hi guys and gals, noob here from downunder.

I am looking at buying a Tablet and have narrowed it down to the Iconia 32GB 501. Obviously there are pros and cons for all the options at the moment. Down here in Australia, 3G models are still not widely available - I have ruled out the Xoom (price and general lack of 3G), the Asus Transformer looks nice but 3G wont be availble for a while and the same goes for the Thrive.

Whilst there are negative comments on the Iconia Tablets, most users who have one seem to agree on their being a good bit of kit.

Mostly I am interested in exploring Android (my only Android experience has been usig my wife's HTC Desire phone for the last couple of months that she has had it) and using a range of media on it (ereading, comics, pdfs, videos etc).

I understand some of the problems with video playback for Tablets at the moment but for other uses, can people share their day to day experiences yusing the device, including likes and dislikes.

Also, I would want to side load cbr and cbz comic archives for reading, what app does this the best at the moment?

Thanks from a noob for any info.

bawboh86

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
For using cbr and cbz files, try out acv (android comic viewer).

As for day to day usage, this thing has been amazingly useful. Taking notes at work, reading, playing games, and research. I use it tethered to my phone while at work (I'm under a heavy proxy at work) to research sites on the 'net. I do read on a regular basis, and this tablet does make it handy for just that. I also use it for presentations thanks to it's micro HDMI slot and the mirroring capabilities. I have a few cables and a micro HDMI converter I use with it to connect it to just about any projector or monitor. If I ever need to access something on a computer that isn't available on tablets, I can even remote desktop to my computer at home and run anything my heart desires.