Problem flashing new ROM with A500

testshoot

Mar 25, 2011
Visit site
Hello guys, am new here and have a new to me problem.

I have rooted and ROM'd a phone several times so not a total newbie. I just bought a new A500 16GB this week. I formatted fat-32 a 32gb Class 10 card, installed some applications, installed iconiaroot, then used acer recovery to install clockworkmod.

I coppied the Thor ROM to the same directory as I installed iconiaroot from. However, when I got through the process to choose the rom to flash, I only see a data and a clockworkmod subdirectory, no files, no other directories. When I go into ES Explorer, it sees the whole directory structure. ROM Manager sees the Thor ROM, but doesn't install properly.

Seems I need to be able to see the directory structure in recovery which I can't. Someone suggested mounting it, which I did, but that didn't change what recovery saw?

Thanks!

testshoot

Mar 25, 2011
Visit site
Hi guys, still stuck...in addition to the above, I realized that Acer Recovery installed an old Recovery. I copied Thor's new Recovery to the SD card, but I have the same problem with that file as I did with the ROM, it doesn't see the files and directories in the root of the SD card.

Help needed please:'(

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Hi guys, still stuck...in addition to the above, I realized that Acer Recovery installed an old Recovery. I copied Thor's new Recovery to the SD card, but I have the same problem with that file as I did with the ROM, it doesn't see the files and directories in the root of the SD card.

Help needed please:'(

Make sure you are selecting "install zip from Sd", then "select zip"

Also, it seems you do not have the files on the root of the sd. I would do this, remove your sd, format it to FAT32 on your pc, copy your rom.zip directly to the root, install, then boot to recovery and follow the above steps.