1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default did I brick my Fire?

I edited the settings.db, and now my Fire won't boot past the kindle fire logo. Is there any way to get it back? adb isn't listing it when I run adb devices. This is my first time rooting an android device, but I'm usually pretty techy...

Is it possible to get a disk-image of a factory-defaults kindle fire and dd it onto the drive? It looks like the Fire is connecting at least partly to my linux box, since it's getting an entry in /dev and showing up in syslog, but it won't let me mount it.

Any suggestions for unbricking???? I'd *really* like to have my fire working again!

btw, i have mac and linux boxes here...

Default Re: did I brick my Fire?

When you say you "edited the settings db" what exactly did you edit?????

Quote Originally Posted by maquis_ View Post
    I edited the settings.db, and now my Fire won't boot past the kindle fire logo. Is there any way to get it back? adb isn't listing it when I run adb devices. This is my first time rooting an android device, but I'm usually pretty techy...

Is it possible to get a disk-image of a factory-defaults kindle fire and dd it onto the drive? It looks like the Fire is connecting at least partly to my linux box, since it's getting an entry in /dev and showing up in syslog, but it won't let me mount it.

Any suggestions for unbricking???? I'd *really* like to have my fire working again!

btw, i have mac and linux boxes here...

Looks like you can download this update through your computer and reload the OS. Cant hurt to try at this point.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...idcentral00-20
    Don't mess with me, I haven't had my Tratonin yet.