ICS on Kindle Fire??

RbBrdMan

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone. I'm a bit new to the scene, however, I did search around the Kindle Forum a bit to try and at least first find a similar thread.

I'm wondering if/when I will be able to put ICS on my Kindle fire. It's such a great little tablet but it would be so much better with ICS and the android market.

So what say you Android Central? Did I miss the thread that talks about this?

project.in.process

May 18, 2010
Visit site
sidenote:
word of advice--be very very careful before installing any ICS launcher on the Fire. had to ADB into it & push another launcher b/c of a constant Force Close by the ICS launcher my brother installed on his (thinking you might put a launcher while waiting for the actual ROM)

other than that--yes, there is a Work-In-Progress ICS port right now that's still being polished. but i don't think it's any bit of a daily-driver as there's still many annoying bugs.

RbBrdMan

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the reply?

Quick question are there any step by step guides to rooting the fire to accept ROMs? I just rooted my Nexus S 4g over the weekend with a couple of great guides I found here. I'm far from a pro at this yet since the Nexus was my first rooting attempt but it went very smoothly thanks to the guides.

I found this post linking to a couple of resources, but looking at the comments on the thread it seems that it may not be working as smoothly as people would hope.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/am...pdated-root-method-available-kindle-fire.html

.46caliber

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site
There's a user on YouTube, nat3mil, who has produced some great videos about hacking and working on the Kindle Fire.

In order to install a custom ROM you will need to:

A) Root the Kindle Fire - How to Root - Kindle Fire (All Firmware Versions! Including 6.2.1) - YouTube
B) Install Custom Recovery - How to Flash Custom Recovery (TWRP) - Kindle Fire - YouTube