Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Johnly
  • 1 Post By Laughing Man
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Why does Google have such poor follow-through?

I love Android. I've been using it for two years now and I think Google has finally hit a homerun with ICS. It no longer needs OEM skins and really shines as a great OS.
    However, one thing I'm getting fed up with is Google's lack of follow-through when it comes to anything they announce. Let's look at a few things:

- Google Wallet. One of the absolute coolest features my Nexus has, but in order to actually download the app on my Verizon Galaxy Nexus I had to do some funky trick because it's not officially supported. Why is Wallet only available on one (or two?) phone(s) on one of the smallest carriers in the US? Why does it still not even have Visa support? Why, at the absolute very least, does it not even allow auto-replenishment of the prepaid card?

- Android @ Home. What ever happened to it? It was announced at Google I/O 2011 and we haven't heard a peep about it yet. It's such an awesome idea, but Google hasn't done anything with it yet besides talking about it a year ago.

- Android Update Alliance. Also announced at Google I/O, this has gotten about as much play as Android@Home did. We have yet to see anything else about this, and some of the OEMs that were part of this "Alliance" are already bowing out of updating recent phones. Does Google seriously not have enough pull on these manufacturers to make them stick to their word?