No custom ringtone on my metroPCS WTF?!

ljproud

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I'm fairly new to smart phones in general but am getting acquainted quickly. I have a LG Motion with metroPCS running ice cream sandwich. I've loaded .mp3 files to my phone and using the file manager Astrofile I placed them in the folder "ringtones" which already existed.

Could not find it in sounds later. Have also tried creating new audio folders in media and placing them there, no use. Also noticed that when I try to put them in the folder root/Alarms they don't show up in alarms either. Have tried rebooting my phone in the meanwhile.

I know that I could download some app to do this for me. But feel like I should be able to just do it myself. I mean, how do the apps do it? I don't want to buy metro's ringtones, and I don't want free apps that want access to my contact data and network preferences. I've tried searching the forums but have not found an answer beyond "put the file in the ringtones folder."

Any help would be appreciated as this is quite frustrating.

neil154

Mar 9, 2011
Visit site
Try creating a folder "Ringtones" but have it as a subfolder of "Media" on your phone main memory. The media folder probably already exists

ljproud

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
No dice. The media folder exists. I created Ringtones inside and placed a new copy of the mp3s.

I left the originals in the "Ringtones" folder directly outside the media folder (that came with the phone) but neither place has mattered

neil154

Mar 9, 2011
Visit site
No dice. The media folder exists. I created Ringtones inside and placed a new copy of the mp3s.

I left the originals in the "Ringtones" folder directly outside the media folder (that came with the phone) but neither place has mattered

Sorry, but that is exactly what I did and it works fine. I don't have any other suggestions

ljproud

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
Blast. You have Verizon though right?