Stopped Verizon OTA - Rooted my D4 - No Jelly Bean For me - Here's What I did

wendroid2g

Oct 25, 2011
Visit site
This is for people who don't know anything, like I didn't so they don't have to do a ton of research, like I did. I did a lot of research at various Android forums and put together some steps I would have to do in order to block the Jelly Bean update from my Verizon Droid 4 ICS phone. I like ICS, have my phone the way I want it and am used to it and don't want to deal with the new bugs in JB and I want to keep my wifi tether. So this is what I did, and thanks to a lot of other people who shared int the various forums that helped me to piece this together. I'm not an expert, not very knowledgeable at all. I just did a lot of reading of the various forums googling until I felt I had a plan put together. So please don't ask me for advice as I won't really be able to help. I just put together this list so others would have an idea of what is needed. If I find that something I did is messed up, I'll update this post and what I did to fix it.

1. I rooted my phone using OneClickRoot - There are 3 versions of this one click method. Use the website - One Click Root the Motorola Droid 4 | Android Advice & Tutorials

After I rooted, Using MyBackupPro - I froze the following system apps - Freeze Updater.apk Upgrader.apk FOTA.apk - You can use Titanium Backup Pro to Freeze too.

I Renamed These System Apps - BlurUpdater_VZW.apk to BlurUpdater_VZW.apk.bak.
Rename BlurUpdater_VZW.odex to BlurUpdater_VZW.odex.bak.
OTA updater otacerts.zip lives in the file system, /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip, I renamed it to otacerts.bak
And renamed BlurUpdater_VZW.lapk to BlurUpdater_VZW.bak - find it in
/system/app/BlurUpdater_VZW.apk
If the update has already downloded it will be here - /cashe - you can delete it