Exchange Not Working with Stock Email App

jlobsien

Oct 12, 2012
Visit site
I have a Galaxy Nexus "maguro" phone running 4.2.2 JB.

I work in IT, and we're testing mobile device management through exchange. Here's the problem: I cannot get my device to set up a corporate account. My details are all correct, and it says "checking incoming server connecitons..." and then seems to time out and say "unable to open connection to the server".
If I try to use the built-in email app or clone apps like Aqua Mail, I get this error. If I use Maildroid, which is not based on the stock app, it works fine. Connects and syncs and everything is great (except no calendar support). What is going on here?

More details: I am the only one running JB at my work. People with iOS devices, blackberry, or older versions of Android have no problem connecting (even with the stock app), and like I said, I can connect if not using the built-in app or built-in account manager.

Things I've checked: I've tried this on Wi-fi and mobile. I have checked the "data usage" settings to make sure "Auto-sync data" is checked. I have double-checked my exchange account, but again, I can connect by going a non-default route. I tried clearing the email app's cache. I tried a full factory reset with no luck. I even downgraded the damn thing to ICS, and still had no luck!

I would be okay with just using Maildroid, except that I'm not receiving our exchange security policy either, which was the whole point of this venture.

Any help? :confused:

big matty

Dec 18, 2012
Visit site
What do the Exchange server's logs say? (Should be a logon attempt in Security log and also your web service should create a log...)

I'd also be curious if it does the same thing with your phone, but another user's account?

Good luck!

jlobsien

Oct 12, 2012
Visit site
Thank you for the responses!