Newb Step by Step Jelly Bean upgrade - Please Help

tagliaboo

Jul 28, 2012
Visit site
I have to upgrade my phone it crashes several times a day. I currently have the following specs.

HTC EVO 4G Sprint
Android 2.3.5
Kernel 2.6.35.10-g4b48446
Unlocked
Supersonic EVT3 Ship S-ON
HBOOT 2.18.0001
Clockwork Recovery 5.0.2.2
I also have Titanium Backup and Busy Box installed.

I am completely new to rooting and need simple instructions. I have searched extensively, but most sites explain it like I'm a rocket scientist. Do I need to backup and reset to factory defualt mode? If so, what are steps to do safely and keep data? Then what is best course of action? I would like a bloated free version of Jelly Bean, suggestions welcome. Do I need a new kernel as well? Sorry if questions seem dumb, but I need help. Thanks.

HNNNNNGHHH

Feb 21, 2013
Visit site
I have to upgrade my phone it crashes several times a day. I currently have the following specs.

HTC EVO 4G Sprint
Android 2.3.5
Kernel 2.6.35.10-g4b48446
Unlocked
Supersonic EVT3 Ship S-ON
HBOOT 2.18.0001
Clockwork Recovery 5.0.2.2
I also have Titanium Backup and Busy Box installed.

I am completely new to rooting and need simple instructions. I have searched extensively, but most sites explain it like I'm a rocket scientist. Do I need to backup and reset to factory defualt mode? If so, what are steps to do safely and keep data? Then what is best course of action? I would like a bloated free version of Jelly Bean, suggestions welcome. Do I need a new kernel as well? Sorry if questions seem dumb, but I need help. Thanks.

The HTC Evo 4G doesn't officially support Jelly Bean builds, so Custom ROMs are the way to go. Just don't be surprised if many features don't work as most ROMs are unofficial ports.