1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    5 Global Posts

Default Going from stock Eclair to JellyBean Costom ROM on GTi9000T (not like the other problem)

I've been reading tutorials about how to flash a custom rom. Most, if not all, of the tutorials I have seen so far have suggested that I make a CWM back-up in case of an emergency. My problem is that ROM manager does not support éclair any more and I am fairly certain that even if I download an apk file and install it on my phone manually, I will brick my phone.

I've been using eclair since 2011 and I can't take it any more, honestly. Also, I started learning programming a month ago and plan to start a career in Android app development after I go to uni and graduate from a BA in software engineering. Flashing a rom has become more of a personal challenge for me. If I can do something as "simple" as flash a custom rom then I have no hope of being a developer!

1.Can I flash my phone without having CWM?

2.Given the circumstances, is it advisable for me to flash without cwm?

3. If I can flash without using CWM, will using the factory reset option will brick my phone?

4. How can I get jellybean on my phone in my predicament?

I am a total noob to all of this. I am familiar with some terms and their meanings such as root,nandroid etc but that's it. I also don't have the money to get a new phone now. So if a brick it, I'll be stuck using "normal" phone.

sorry for the typos...need to get to work!

ROM
    BobZ CM10

Default Re: Going from stock Eclair to JellyBean Costom ROM on GTi9000T (not like the other problem)

Quote Originally Posted by Groudie View Post