Duplicate and blank files within picture and video folders in Gallery

Alex Rome

Jun 26, 2013
Visit site
I am new to Android devices and own a Hisense Sero 7 tablet with 4.2 JellyBean. I like it and am learning something every day. However, I am noticing something weird in Gallery where I have picture and video folders. After downloading pictures and videos from my desktop to the formatted 32 GB micro SD card and several days later, I noticed when opening Gallery that the picture folders had many duplicates and blank spaces in each folder. A folder originally containing maybe 36 files would now hold 100 files some blank and some duplications. Same thing was happening with my videos. Using several file management apps, I still could not ascertain what was happening. If I ran a Slide Show in a picture folder, the show would not show the blanks. I connected the tablet to my Win 7 computer and analyzed the SD card. It indicated an available capacity of 29.7 GB with used space of 3.58 GB. Analyzing further revealed the following: 8- Lost Folders each empty, 8- Music Folders each containing 157 MB, 8- Picture Folders each containing 2.42 GB, 8- Video Folders 7- empty & 1- containing 358 MB and 8- WMPInfo Folders each containing 296 Bytes. The Music Folders were all duplications. There is no provision for multiple users in this tablet.

The Hisense Sero 7 is operating fine and I do not understand what is happening and what to do to correct the craziness in Gallery.

Help.

iHackPro

Jul 4, 2013
Visit site
Try going to Settings-Apps-Gallery-Clear Cache and see if it rebuilds the file gallery without the dupes/blanks. If not, backup photos, format SD card, and re-add the pics and see if the duplicates and blanks stop showing up.

Alex Rome

Jun 26, 2013
Visit site
1747 thanks for responding. Gallery is not found in Settings-Apps on my tablet.