1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    92 Global Posts

Default Noob Q: Apps and SDCards and stuff (Oh My!)

I'm a relative Android noob, even though I had a Droid X back when they were the hot new thing. After two years on an iPhone, I'm back with a Galaxy Note 3, which I LOVE. But I'm having to re-learn everything.

I just put a 32 gig SD card in today. I went through and moved all the apps that would let me to the sdcard. But they appear to just be in an /sdcard directory, not on the actual external card, which appears to be under another dir, ExtSdCard or something. Can I move them to the real SD card?

Also, my Music was on the main storage too. I just used ES File Manager and moved it over to the real SD card. How do I make sure the system can find it? In regular Linux, I'd just make a symbolic link, but I wondered about how to do it in Android.

Thanks!

Rob

Global Posts
    6,761 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock 4.4 (KitKat)

Default Re: Noob Q: Apps and SDCards and stuff (Oh My!)

Quote Originally Posted by Rob.G View Post
    I'm a relative Android noob, even though I had a Droid X back when they were the hot new thing. After two years on an iPhone, I'm back with a Galaxy Note 3, which I LOVE. But I'm having to re-learn everything.

I just put a 32 gig SD card in today. I went through and moved all the apps that would let me to the sdcard. But they appear to just be in an /sdcard directory, not on the actual external card, which appears to be under another dir, ExtSdCard or something. Can I move them to the real SD card?

Also, my Music was on the main storage too. I just used ES File Manager and moved it over to the real SD card. How do I make sure the system can find it? In regular Linux, I'd just make a symbolic link, but I wondered about how to do it in Android.

Thanks!

Rob