New Tablet/Authentication Problem with Wifi

p1emtangel

Dec 17, 2013
Visit site
hey yall,
i'm a newbie, hoping to get some help...
i bought my daughter a polaroid 8" S8 jelly bean tablet for Christmas. i want to have it all set up and ready to go when she opens it, but i can't connect to our wifi. it constantly says "authentication problem" and will occasionally flash "saved, secured with WPA/WPA2." i tried resetting the router, but maybe i didn't do that correctly. my laptop is connecting just fine. any help is greatly appreciated.

fxbg

Dec 19, 2013
Visit site
We have the exact same problem (a frustrated daughter and an S8 that won't connect at home).
It's not the tablet, apparently, because it will connect on a wireless network in other places.
But at home - using a Verizon Fios router - it recognizes the router, the password is definitely correct ... have shut down both the tablet and the router and "forgotten" the router multiple times but still just get the "saved, secured" message after trying to connect.

Super frustrated - anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance (from me and my daughter) for any help.

Linda Ward

Dec 25, 2013
Visit site
My new tablet won't let me in. It keeps saying authentication problem. It asked for the password, and I got that from my router, thinking that would do it, and it's still saying authentication problem. Any ideas? Thanks.

Jemma Davies

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
Hello!

We had this problem too - while it was trying to connect, I held down onto the connection name 'talktalk' and came up with two options (forget network and modify network) we selected modify network and typed in the password again (case sensitive) and it connected! Good luck!

luckystars280

Jan 23, 2014
Visit site
ours is a brand new nexus 7 and it is frustrating that I can't get onto it at all until the wifi is authenticated!! I tried the suggestion to hold down connection name