Coming from WP, My 1st Android Phone...Why I left...and Why I'll Be Back!

peacefulberry

Feb 4, 2013
Visit site
Hello All!

I am new to AC, but not Mobile Nations..I've been a member of the WP Central community for some time now! I have to say, that I didn't see the day coming that I would actually be writing in this forum (because I kind of swore off Android some time ago, LOL) So..here we are, and I up and bought a Note II as my first Android device (never even owned an Android tablet either..yeah I'm an Android virgin!) Anyway, I've always read the horror stories of viruses, and the intrusion of privacy, adware, malware, etc. from the scary opensource platform offered by the largest tech company in the world-Google. I vowed some time ago, that it will NEVER be me and my phone, cuz I was sticking with Blackberry or WP..period!

Well, to make a long story shorter (can't promise you that it won't be a tiny bit long) my WP has been having sim card issues for some time. These issues make the phone unusable as a phone..no texting, calling, etc. This is a known issue with my model. Also, the Other Storage issue was bugging the hell out of me too! Basically, in WP8, temp. files and other misc. files are stored on your phone in an Other Storage category. (I think it's from YT videos and other music and photo files that are duplicated once you open the file/video, but not 100 sure). These files/cache could not be cleared, and it slowly eats away at your memory, until you're left with 1GB of storage and no SD card! So..I had no choice but to jump off the sinking ship and find something quick. I decided that I wanted a large size phone with multi tasking, SD card, and removable battery. The Note II seemed perfect..so I bought it!