Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    161 Global Posts

Default WiFi question

Does anyone know how my WiFi always connects to my home router, even when always scanning is disabled?

I've read other forum posts but haven't found any info about this. I ask because I don't want WiFi always scanning and draining my battery.

I want to set up Tasker to turn WiFi off when not connected after a minute or two, and I think I know how. I would really like to have it set to reconnect to my known WiFi points without having to manually turn WiFi on, but I'm not sure how to do that. Anyone know how to set that up? I don't want to use location based profiles. And I don't want Tasker always scanning and draining my battery, so I'm not sure if this can be used efficiently?

I'm new to Android, so sorry if these question have been asked before. I did a few searches, but couldn't find any info on these questions, at least not any info that was helpful.

Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using AC Forums mobile app
    If you are replying to my post, please use "Reply With Quote".

Nexus 5 - AT&T

Default Re: WiFi question

Some devices have a setting that allows wifi to turn on automatically. What device do you have? Go to Settings>Wi-fi, tap the Menu button and then Advanced, and see if there is an option for that.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    161 Global Posts

Quote Originally Posted by B. Diddy View Post
    Some devices have a setting that allows wifi to turn on automatically. What device do you have? Go to Settings>Wi-fi, tap the Menu button and then Advanced, and see if there is an option for that.
    I have a Nexus 5. The always scanning option is off, but the option to notify me of open networks is checked. I'll turn that off and see what happens.

Thanks for the help.

Nexus 5 - AT&T