Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Automotive Scan Tool App

Can someone recommend a good scan tool app. I am a driveability tech and would like to get one for at home for side work and friends cars. Thanks

Global Posts
    295 Global Posts

Suggest Torque in the market. It interfaces with bluetooth OBD scanners that can be found for ~ $30 on eBay. The author is very responsive.

Quote Originally Posted by rem_kujawa View Post
    Can someone recommend a good scan tool app. I am a driveability tech and would like to get one for at home for side work and friends cars. Thanks
    please elaborate: what exactly is an automotive scan tool?

Global Posts
    3,815 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock

It syncs bluetooth to a sensor connected into the ODB-II sensor that is require on all cars from 1996 on. Typical location for these ports are under the stearing wheel, or on the drivers side around where a a hood release lever would be. It can pull codes for diagnostics, display "real-time" engine stats like RPM, speed, boost (turbo/supercharged cars with a sensor built in). Pretty neat stuff for the motorhead like me. I've been thinking about getting something like this. I wouldn't recommend this for someone who has autozones/advanced auto parts near by and just need a diagnostics scan. Those places do it for free.

Torque App

Example of wireless ODB-II scanner
    Last edited by Andrew Ruffolo; 07-10-2010 at 12:44 PM.
    Thanked by:
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    please elaborate: what exactly is an automotive scan tool?
    It's what we use to diagnoses check engine lights and various driveablity problems.
  6. Thread Author  Thread Author    #6  

Quote Originally Posted by rufflez View Post