1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Calorie Counter Showdown (Fat Secret vs. My Fitness Pal)

This is my first attempt at a comparison, but hope this will be helpful to people (and future reference for myself).

There are two Calorie Counter apps in the market that I've been testing out over the last month. One is by Fat Secret, and the other is by My Fitness Pal. Below I'll attempt to give an overview of both, and highlight the differences, pros, and cons of each. Keep in mind they are just my opinions.

I will refer to Fat Secret's as "FS" and My Fitness Pal's as "MFP" for easy reference below.

Cost: Both are free. Both have ads at the bottom of the screen.

Profile Creation and Maintenance
    When you start up both apps, you are asked to create an account, enter your information (age, gender, current weight, height, activity level, and goals).

Right away I noticed some differences. FS only allowed you to enter your age, while MFP let you enter your birthdate: essential if you use the app for more than a year, as intakes/recommendations change based on age: i.e. with FS you'd have to go in to edit your age every year. Probably not a big deal as one year doesn't make a huge difference, but still a minor annoyance.

FS only has 5 goals available (maintain, lose or gain 1/2 lb/week, lose or gain 1 lb/week). MFP adds two more (lose 1.5 or 2 lbs/week).

MFP also adds on Exercise goals (workouts/week and minutes/workout), which FS is missing.

Finally, MFP allows you to select units (metric or english). While FS allowed me to enter my info in English, when I went to edit my profile, it had reverted back to metric.

As for editing profile information or changing your goals, it is pretty straight forward in MFP. You either click the "profile" button at the top or go to Menu > More and it's easy to change.