Dock icon reflections with Nova Launcher

andy1223

Nov 23, 2013
plus.google.com
I'm not sure if many folks still like the shiny and reflective dock icons since the trend seems to be flat icons now. But I still like the look and was disappointed to find that Nova didn't have this option. So I kept looking and found at least one way to to do it. See screenshots below.

I'm no expert at tweaking launchers, but I have tried a few since I got the Note 3 a few weeks ago. I liked Nova the best and went ahead and upgraded to Prime (but I don't think you need Prime for this to work). I liked the scrollable docks option in Nova, among its many other features, but the one thing I couldn't get it to do was reflective dock icons on the home screens. As far as I know, ADW is the only launcher that has this feature. I tried ADW and liked it also, but it didn't have the option for scrollable docks like in Nova, at least not in the free version I tried.

So I searched forums on how to get the reflective icons in Nova and got advice from others, until I finally came up with at least one way to do it. It's nothing ground breaking and I know I'm not the the first to figure it out. But I couldn't find any other posts about it, so I'm posting now in case others are interested.

I want to say first that when I was still new to Nova's settings, I was thrown off by the 'Mirror' option in the launcher's 'Dock Style' > 'Fill Mode' settings. When I saw that option I assumed it would enable a mirror-like reflection on the dock image to reflect the dock icon images. I was wrong. Apparently, the 'Fill Mode' options, including the 'Mirror' option, are only enabled once you choose an image, like say from the Gallery, to 'fill' the dock image. Anyway, this was not what I thought it was.

So to put it very simply about how to make this work, all you have to do is:
1. find a glass-like image to use for the dock and adjust its transparency