[PLEASE HELP]Wanting to make my own app.

asd216

Dec 7, 2010
Visit site
Hey AC,

As stated in the title, I'm trying to make my own app. I downloaded the SDK from android.com to create apps, and learning to code is something I've always wanted to do.

The app I'm trying to create is most likely to advanced for me but hey, go big or go home right? It's going to be unique SMS app built for 4.0+ and I'm looking for a generous developer to guide me in the right direction.

I first asked on XDA but they don't care too much for noob like me so I thought I would ask the more friendly folks of AC :D

Any help is appreciated!

Axila_Apps

Jan 24, 2013
Visit site
I unfortunately don't have the time to actively guide you but I will suggest some things to get started. I'm going to assume that you have never programmed before or never worked with object oriented code.

• Get a good book or take a class. I started coding on my own with the TI-83+ series of calculators with only the instruction manual to guide me (back when TI halfway decent manuals). Because I was self-taught, I never realized that I was making some really dumb mistakes. Later on I took a class in C Sharp just for fun, and both the professor and the book taught me how to avoid common coding mistakes and pitfalls that I made all the time. Additionally, I learned the lingo of programming itself, such as 'class,' 'object,' 'method,' and 'headers.'