I want to love play music, but.....

Theot

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site
As a longtime music streamer I've always found it to be adventageous to buying music as it was easier to discover new music and found it well worth $5-$10 a month to not have to buy new songs and add all the new music I wanted to my playlists. I've been using slacker for over 3 years and loved it.

However in January I switched to sprint from verizon to save money and upgrade without losing unlimited data. However the network wasn't quite as good for streaming as we all know (although I do have LTE in my area now). So I went looking for alternatives so that I could cache my playlists to the device for offline play which slacker is supposed to do but I couldn't get it to work. I've been using Spotify for a couple months now, I can easily cache my playlists to my SD card on my Note 2 for offline play in case I don't have a fast data connection, they've recently added the ability in the app to sort playlists and it works fairly well. However I've found the radio feature to be a little bit lacking as I rarely get anything I like no matter how often I click dislike (Slacker does this very well I think). But, I do like being able to use shared/published playlists to discover other music. Another plus, the app is very simple and intuitive.

Upon the news of all share music or whatever they are calling it I jumped on board for 30 days free and $2 cheaper a month. After a few frustrating days however,
- I can cache songs for offline play, but only on the internal storage
- its a pain in the **** to navigate that app, adding a song to a playlist while listening to the radio is a 4 tap process, in Spotify or Slacker its 1 or 2.
- I can't play a radio station based on my playlist, only based on a song or artist. At least not that I've found.
- Why do I have a library and playlists? Why are there songs I never have listened to in my library and why can't I remove them