Show a little love for your developer :)

BluePLanetMan

Jun 15, 2010
Visit site
Hello Fellow Androiders,

I just wanted to take this opportunity to touch base with you all on a rather sensitive topic, the Comment/Review system on the Google App Market. As a developer I feel that the current system is entirely inadequate and unfair to developers. For example, my company is working on two products dTor and roboPrint. I am the first to say that dTor is a work is progress and that is has some serious flaws on "some" hardware platforms, namely certain HTC models. We are working hard to resolve these issues. From our perspective, there was really no way to determine the flaws that existed on certain models. We beta tested the software on 100 users and it tested well on all but one phone. Even with that we released the software as BETA-Pre Release. Making it clear that it was a work in progress. In retrospect, we probably should have not charged anything for the beta, but we were under the impression that it was stable. With that said, users have seemed to disregard any of the work we have tried to do, and simply focused on the problem they had (USUALLY WITHOUT EVER CONTACT SUPPORT FOR HELP!). Posting 1 start because you had a problem with a program, without contacting support, ESPECIALLY when the program is in active development, in beta, is unfair to the developer and unhelpful to other users.

As a user, I am very careful about how I review an application, and what I post about the application. I take into consideration the time and effort of development, what I paid (or did not pay) for the application, and then make my decision. For example, my roboPrint application initially did not support local network printer discovery, in the early beta release (which is does now), but in every other way functioned fine, however, one user still posted 1 star simply because it did not support local network printer discovery. Give me a break!