Creating several Android radio straming Apps but can install only 1 as the 2nd is seen as an update, what am I doing wrong?

Fabiotek

Dec 26, 2014
Visit site
Creating several Android radio straming Apps but can install only 1 as the 2nd is seen as an update

Hello Android Central Community!

Season greetings!

I am starting doing my first steps in the Android Apps development and I hope to get some guidance from some experts.

I created a simple android App that is merely streaming one shoutcast radio station. I works fine.

The big issues started in the moment I wanted to create the second Radio App to play a second different radio station. The second App is somehow identical to the first, with only change being that it points to a different shoutcast http link...and it has also some different icons/logo.

In my understanding I changed the name of the App to; but as said I am a novice and perhaps I missed out something.

At the beginning I was not understanding also how to duplicate the Radio App and be allowed to save it. Perhaps issues starter there? Anyway I made copy and paste of the job and started changing stream link, radio station name, logo, etc.

== The issue===
After having completed the Second "Radio App" with its own info, my Sony smartphone asks me if I want to UPDATE the First Radio App instead of letting me install the second.

So, obviously even if I changed the name of the App in many lines, there must be something that makes my phone see the second App as a duplicate and a potential update to the first radio app.

What am I doing wrong?

I was reading that the issue can be originate by the manifest that hasn't been edited properly and other stuff, but honestly I am unable to proceed correctly... when I changed the "package" name in the AndroidManifest, lot of lines lost the link paths.

I hope I was somehow able to explain the issue I am facing, and hope even more to get some precious help!

Thank you very much for helping me out!

Regards