Gallery not opening

shstacey

Dec 21, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android (picked up my Droid X last Monday), though I spent days reading this forum before deciding on a phone. I've been very happy with it, except for one minor problem.

After playing with the Camera for a while, I went looking for a camera app that was silent (because most of my pics are of my kids and my pets, who look when they hear the focus tone and the moment's lost) and installed Vignette, which I love. All was well until this past weekend, when Gallery stopped opening. When I tap on the icon, it flashes very quickly, then goes back to the home screen. I can access it through the camera itself, but not the Gallery icon. After searching around here, I tried checking the SD card and battery pulls, but no dice.

Yesterday I drove the half-hour to the Verizon store and the tech ended up having to factory reset the phone to make it work. After redownloading all my apps, it seemed fine.

This morning, I used Vignette to take a photo and shared it to Twitter. A little while later, I tried to open Gallery and it flashed and didn't open again. Besides the fact I really don't want to download all my apps again, Christmas is right around the corner and I'm the mom, which means I don't have a couple of hours to go back to the Verizon store. It's tempting to just live with it, since I can still access the pics through the camera, but I'm only one week into a two-year relationship, which is too soon to be overlooking flaws.

Is there a possiblity Vignette's causing this? And is there a way I can fix it without totally wiping my phone again?

I did search a bit and found this:

Saiyaman156 said: It looks like any time there is a directory with a picture file in it that the Gallery app can see, the app will crash. When I place the ".nomedia" file in to all directories with pictures in them, I am able to open the application.

I don't know what that means, unfortunately. I'd appreciate any help you can offer!