Google Movie Store

Bobrowe78

Jan 20, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to android and still am waiting to purchase an android device, one of the main reasons why I've been waiting is lack of a movie store. With my job I am away from home a lot and use my iPhone to watch movies when I'm bored and stuck in a hotel. I really really want to switch to android because to me android is the future for mobile devices. Hopefully with the release of honeycomb 3.0 for tablets which r perfect for watching movies, they will realease a movie store in a future update. Anyone else want to see a google movie store?

irish22022

Jul 28, 2010
Visit site
I don't see it happening anytime soon. I see, much much sooner, netflix coming to android (which is 1000 times better then any other online library to date). Netflix has already announced it's making an android app, it will be out within the next year.

Apple's movie store isn't nearly as successful as you think. It's looked at, by a lot of people, as kind of a failure and proof that you can't compete with amazonVOD/netflix. They pay all this money to distributors, and then very few people even watch those iTunes rentals. They have a lot more luck with TV shows, however. Apple TV, the flagship for those movies, is as big of failure as Google TV.

The reason I think google won't bother right away? Because it's not just making a library of all the old ones (which google can do better then anyone with some funding), it's the fact that every week, money needs to be paid to get the new ones too. It's never ending, and the market isn't big enough.

Bobrowe78

Jan 20, 2011
Visit site