How to recover lost memo data (Samsung J3 “Memo” app)

Mark_Law

May 25, 2017
Visit site
I’m a newbie to this forum, and I’ve joined to get help with a problem. I made changes to an old and lengthy (and valuable) memo on my Samsung J3 phone. After making the changes, I tapped the upper right corner of the memo (“Save”) as I have done many times before. Weirdly, the contents of the memo disappeared. The memo’s title remains (i.e., the memo itself was not deleted), but now it’s a blank slate. I had not selected any text for cutting or deletion, and it’s not as if I tapped anything that said “Delete.” I’ve left the memo alone for now until I figure out what happened and whether I have any ability to recover the previous contents.

I recall that years ago, some computer programs (such as Lotus 1-2-3 and WordPerfect) would automatically save a *.bk1 or *.bak file that represented the file in its next-to-last state, so that if a file was accidentally overwritten, you could restore the previous version from the backup. Does Samsung’s memo app have a similar backup feature?

I’ve also come across ads for some apps that purport to allow the user to recover deleted memo files. I don’t know whether they would help in my situation, where the issue seems to be deletion (or overwriting) of the file’s contents rather than deletion of the file itself. Are any of these apps effective (and safe)?

Any thoughts as to how the text in my memo could have disappeared and whether/how I can safely recover it? Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Mark_Law

Mark_Law

May 25, 2017
Visit site
Thank you for the links, Golf. I had come across the EaseUS | Data Recovery, Backup, Partition Manager & PC Utility Software site myself, as well as another recovery app called Dr. Fone. I’m reluctant to use them. “Trust” is definitely a concern when it comes to installing apps that may be sketchy.