Need help undersanding android auto

Jeff_droid

May 19, 2016
Visit site
Hi,
I'm a newbie on the forum and pre-newbie to Android stuff.
I have purchased a Pioneer AVH-4200NEX for my Jeep. I still have a Blackberry that I use for my on-call paging which works just fine. But, I'm going to actually get out of the stone age and get an Android phone. So, that leaves me with the question of how to connect to my Head Unit. Talk about a daunting array of connectivity options... I guess what I want most is to get the wiring configured with as much flexibility as possible so as not to have to open up the dash after I've completed the installation.
From what I've read it seems that Android Auto might be the best solution. However I don't know if I should connect with just a usb, or usb and hdmi, or usb and hdmi to MHL? Or, should I be looking at a Miralink option? I get the impression that Miralink just displays the phone screen on the HU screen but the controls are all from the phone. Is that accurate? Then there's Pioneer's interface which is appradio which I understand is much more limited than Android Auto. I've read that if you want to use Android Auto you should run appradiounchained reloaded ... whatever that is. I will also be wanting to buy an Android phone/tablet. What do they call it these days for a big one ? a phablet? I'd like to be able to surf while connected to my home internet and not using up wireless minutes. So, I thought I might want a 7 or 8 inch display. Also want to use phablet for navigation. Anyone have suggestions for a unit that is known to be nicely compatible with the 4200NEX ?
Can anyone help clarify this stuff for me?

Thanks.

Pedrore

Jun 2, 2015
Visit site