Doesn't 32 bit chipset support 4GB addressing?

Slingshot54

Dec 7, 2014
Visit site
If Snapdragon supports 32 bit addressing then why don't best of the latest crop of smartphones boast 4GB of real storage? The LG G3 has an option that comes with 3GB of real memory. Why not 4GB of real memory? Besides the cost is there something I am missing?
More memory would give better peformance, no?

thatguy97

Nov 18, 2013
Visit site
More RAM not storage doesn't always aquate to better performance in fact the two skus of the g3( 2 or 3 gb of ram) is for the software and doesn't mean ones better than the other at least that's what LG said

Posted via the Android Central App

salmanahmad

Jul 30, 2014
Visit site
I'm not an expert with this kind of stuff but you can expand the memory bandwidth(or something like that) and give 32 bit hardware to capability to run more than 4GB RAM, which is the recognised limit for 32 bit systems.

However more RAM does not always equal better performance, there is an optimal limit for each system as to how much RAM it should have. 64 bit systems have the ability to address 1000s of GBs of RAM, yet they are coupled with 4GB, 8GB and so on...

And from a certain point if you do not improve your CPU and GPU and keep adding more RAM, there will come a time when you'll be subject to diminishing returns because the CPU/GPU will bottleneck the extra RAM(if I am using that word correctly)

For phones 2GB of RAM is more than enough, but humans are never satisfied with existing standards and our curiosity and will to improve is probably why we are more developed than other species.

We are heading towards 64 bit hardware in mobiles, the Tegra K1 is an example of a huge leap and soon enough you will find phones with 4GB of RAM or more.

Again, I could be wrong but this is what I've read.

Slingshot54

Dec 7, 2014
Visit site