Google Apps/Gsuite

dvdmon

Apr 23, 2011
Visit site
Hey Jerry,

I was wondering if you might speak here or on the podcast to the issue of people who have a Google Apps/Gsuite account. As a long-time developer, I got my own domain name back in the late 90's and it's been used primarily to have a permanent email address ever since. I switched to Gmail around 2005, maybe a bit earlier, and have been using mostly Google services ever since.

The problem is that with many new services Google seems to hold off on offering them to Google Apps/Gsuite users. If I could downgrade to a "normal" account without losing my domain-specific email address, I'd do it, but I don't think that's possible. So for those of us who are not necessarily Gsuite users for "business" reasons, we get to wait for a lot of things longer than the normal user, and I would argue that most of us are more early-adopter types than the "normal user."

The latest example of this is Google Home/Assistant. I can use it, but can't take advantage of any of the account-specific features. So I can't say "Ok Google, good morning" and have it spit out my calendar events for the day. I've had mine now for three months and still can't do this and I have no clue when I will. Pretty frustrating!

I'm wondering why these accounts are so different that items like this cannot be offered in some form as with normal accounts? I understand 98% of Google accounts are probably of the "normal" variety, but many of the power users are in that 2% that are being frustrated and feel like we are being disadvantaged by the fact that we are indeed actually paying Google for the privilege of having these special accounts.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Yep. It sucks.