Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
+ Reply Subscribe
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  
    AC Question

Question Factory Reset with Missing Factory Apps for Galaxy S2 SPH-D710

I have not rooted or upgraded Android. I started having memory problems recently.

I found a thread, which described my situation perfectly. The consensus solution in that thread was: "A simple way to free up storage space is by deleting all the log files in the device memory. Just dial *#9900# on your phone and select option 2 “Delete dumpstate/logcat” in the prompted menu. It's not necessary to root your phone either. I restored 1.4 gig of space after doing this."

Nothing happens when I do that. So I decided I needed to do a factory reset, but first thought I'd do a back up (I've never done that before). So I saw ways to factory reset through Kies Air and Samsung Link. Tried both from my PC, but apparently I don't have some essential Samsung apps that were initially installed on my phone. I must have hastily deleted them when I was trying to free some memory. How to I backup and reset without those apps/drivers I apparently deleted. I have no idea what I deleted.

This is my first smartphone so I'd describe me as a beginner. I have been Googling for days, now I'm frustrated. I would very much appreciate some help.

Default Re: Factory Reset with Missing Factory Apps for Galaxy S2 SPH-D710

You can visit Samsung's website and it should allow you to download whatever you maybe missing in terms of the Samsung apps.

SAMSUNG
    Paul
    Moderator Team Leader @ Android Central

Thanks, Paul, but I've been there and come back empty handed after many hours. I'm not even sure what I'm missing. I can't find a list anywhere of all that should have been installed on my phone when I received it. (btw: I am the poster. Apparently, I wasn't logged in when I posted this).

Global Posts