T-Mobile vs AT&T Throttling

A

AC Question

Hi, this is my first time posting a question. I've been with AT&T since early 2010. I'm grandfathered into their unlimited data plan, but the cost always bugged me. I was also being throttled after using 5GBs within my data cycle (which I think is bogus). I called AT&T and they claim they only throttle to 4G speeds. My phone bill is about $100 a month. I'm a college student trying to make it work and a $100 phone bill is just ridiculous. I called AT&T a couple days ago and they managed to reduce it to about $82 after my college discount and tax.
I would like to ask any of you if it's worth it to switch to T-Mobile. I hear the throttling is even worse. I hear that T-Mo. customers are throttled to 2G speeds if they have the 1GB, 3GB or 5GB 4G LTE data plans. I currently reside in Atlanta for school (inside the Perimeter) and the coverage for my service is pretty good. I checked the T-Mobile coverage map and it says there is also great service in Atlanta.
I was also told that if you get the the unlimited 4G LTE data plan, you won't have any throttling issues. Is this true? Is it also true that customers under the 1, 3 & 5GB 4G LTE plans are throttled to 2G speeds? Is it true that AT&T customers are only throttled to 4G speeds? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm just trying to save money on my phone bill.

Google_Superuser

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site
I don't know about ATT but with T-Mobile the 1,3,5gb plans (50,60,70$) all throttle to 2G speeds after their allotted data. The unlimited plan ($80) does not throttle no matter how much you use but you are limited to 5gb of hotspot on that plan.

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site

Doooooooom

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site
@RumoredNow Hi I'm the person that asked the question. It told me I needed to create an account in order to reply to comments.