Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By goin_nil
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Samsung Galaxy S3 Randomly Shuts off by itself

I've had my phone since Nov. 2013 and it's been good to me. No water damage. Recently it started shutting down by itself. If I keep it charging it's fine. When I'm actively using my phone it's fine. Once I hit the lock screen button, it will still be on then in about 10 minutes when I go to check on my phone again, it's turned off. It's turning off by itselft. I have insurance on the phone but am wondering if there is any remedy before I resort to replacing my phone. I have pics/music/videos/contacts, I don't want to loose that stuff. I am not tech savvy so I don't know how to "back up" or save all my files before trying a factory reset to resolve the issue. Should I just go to my wireless provider for help before it turns off for good? Or are there any Android "tricks" that I can try to save my phone and all of its contents.

Default Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 Randomly Shuts off by itself

Hello. Welcome to Android Central.

Turn master Sync on (Green Sync icon when you pull down the notification shade, usually.) Go to General - Accounts - Google, touch name/email, make sure all sync settings you want are checked. You can save photos, (+music and documents) to a pc via usb or Samsung Kies instead of Google Photos / Picasa if you want. Do the same with the Samsung account. Remember your Google and Samsung log in's. Try Samsung Kies on a pc and do a backup there. You can use Google+ / Drive, Dropbox, etc. Everyone has their own preferences for doing this. You can also download Helium backup to save your app data / settings.

The only thing I can suggest with turning off by itself is it will do that if it reaches a certain temperature.
    I know nothing. Caution: I can edit and delete for no reason.