Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Steve J W
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default An old Motorola Droid X problem that I need advice on

Hi all,
    I'm new to this so please forgive me as I am not tech savvy.
    In 2010 I dropped my Motorola Droid X, Yes I actually said 2010, but please read on. Ever since that day my GPS has frozen in the one place I dropped it.
    All my photo's taken after I dropped it, no matter where I am, still says it was at the same place. I can be 70 miles away and it still will not read the correct GPS coordinates, no matter how many photo's I have taken. My GPS was switched on and worked before I dropped it, I used it to navigate when I drove in my last job.
    The other weird problem is that the time stamp over 4 days of taking photo's is only 7 minutes apart and says pm when I took photo's in the morning, am.
    Now I got rid of that phone for an upgraded one 2 years ago, so no more problems :-)
    HOWEVER, the photo's on my computer that I sent from the 2010 Droid still state incorrect GPS coordinates, along with the time error.

A good friend suggested that the problem "might" be that the GPS chip was damaged when I dropped it, but does not have a clue as to why the date changes ok and the time doesn't.

I am trying to prove to someone that the problem was the phone and not me, (long story that I won't bore you with).

Can someone please tell me in layman's terms what the possible problem was with my old Droid after I damaged it?

Thanks

Default Re: An old Motorola Droid X problem that I need advice on