Hi,

First post here. I'm new to Android having recently bought a cheap Wondermedia tablet to play with. Now that I have a basic understanding of how android works, I bought a ASUS Memopad HD7 as a proper tablet. I'm very pleased with it and hooked!

I have a question on controlling Android in the car, I’m wondering if any knowledgeable folks on here might have an answer.

Apologies for the length of this post but here is what I am trying to do:

Is it possible to control an android tablet or phone by using the steering wheel radio/cd remote controls fitted on my 2006 Ford Mondeo ST TDCI?

I have an Asus Memopad HD7 (with wifi & Bluetooth) which I want to use as the primary media player in my car. I’m using the ES File explorer app on the HD7 to play my MP3 and FLAC files into the aux in on Head unit fitted in my car.

I have quite a large music collection (~1TB) that was becoming difficult to ‘transport’ with me, on portable devices such as the HD7, due to SD card size limitations. So I decided to centralise my collection by putting all my songs on a single 2TB hard disc at home. The disc is connected to a router and I can access all of my collection all around the house via wifi.

I wanted the same accessibility to all of my songs in the car so I installed a wifi network in the car. It’s made up of a Netgear router connected to another 2TB hard disc which contains a mirror image of my data on my home 2TB disc. The disc is very securely packed in vibration proof foam. Both of these devices run on 12v. The system is fully battery backed up using a small 24AH leisure battery and charging cct. The system charges up when the engine is running and will run for about 20 hours on its own without the engine running and without draining the car battery.