Why can't I get onto wifi after nexus coming back from repair?

A

AC Question

Hi all, Newbie here. I have had my nexus for about 11 months and found the earphone socket was operating erratically. It has been for repair under guarantee and the main board has been replaced, it came back today. I am trying to set it up, but cannot access our wifi. Repairers have not installed Android on it , so I have no access to settings etc. In order to install I need wifi, which is where the problem begins. I am getting a message "authentication problem" whenever I try to connect to our wifi. I have rebooted and reset the wifi box, but nothing has changed. I don't know what to do next!. Help would be appreciated, even if only a suggestion to send a "rude" message to the repairers!
Thanks, Ann

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! I'm sorry, but what do you mean that they didn't install Android on it? If you can turn the tablet on, and the homescreen shows up, the Android OS is installed. Swipe down from the top/right of the screen to get to the Quick Settings menu, and tap Settings. Can you get to the Settings menu that way?

Review this guide: http://forums.androidcentral.com/am...roubleshooting-wi-fi-connection-problems.html

Ann-p

Oct 3, 2014
Visit site
Thanks B Diddy, I already looked at the troubleshooting link but I can't access settings. When I turn on I get "Welcome, choose language" menu and a next arrow which takes me to Select Wi-fi. Our router is showing ( along with the neighbours) but when I try to connect I get the message "authentication problem". I can't get past this screen and I do not get the usual homescreen. If I swipe I just get the date and time at the top.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site