How do I permanently delete everything on my Samsung S4 Active?

A

AC Question

how to really permanently delete everything on samsung s4 active?

I will give my phone to technical service due to a problem on battery. I am a little paranoid about technical service employee and don't trust them in terms of personal privacy.

I read that factory reset does not permanently remove everything on phone.

I would like to delete everything on phone in a way that in which even high level forensic recovery softwares can't recover anything.

By the way, i am not an expert user on android so please describe the solution in detailed form.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Re: how to really permanently delete everything on samsung s4 active?

Factory Reset or Data Wipes do delete your info from the phone, but yeah, not to a low level (they only mask away the data, but the actual data is still there, waiting to be overwritten by new data).

There are tools out there to wipe it out for good, but basically, what you need to do is overwrite said data. If you have a 32GB drive, write 32GB worth of junk files into it, then delete it. That effectively makes your old data inaccessible even after a data wipe.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Re: how to really permanently delete everything on samsung s4 active?