Hey everyone! To give a little background info I have been using apple phones for about 6 years. I went on vacation this summer and needed a phone that was unlocked so I could use oversees. While hesitant at first I ended up deciding to buy an s4. I have not looked back since and absolutely fell in love with it. Since then I have decided to actually stay with my s4 and just use it here now in the good ol' US of A. I plan on getting the note 4 in a month or so. I am sick of apples shenanigans.

I do however need help updating my phone. The s4 I have was originally for verizon and I am using it on AT&T. Its currently using android version 4.3. I would like to update but every time I go to Settings>About Phone>Software update I get this message "Service Unavailable: Software update is temporarily unavailable. Try again later."

This happen to me while overseas as well so its not just an AT&T issue. Any ideas? thanks again for the help
    10-13-2014 08:41 AM
    Welcome to the forums. This is probably because of the fact that it was on Verizon, now on a different carrier. I can easily tell you how to update it, but I am not sure if the device will stay unlocked to AT&T.
    10-13-2014 08:45 AM
    So if I upgrade I might lose my unlock?
    10-13-2014 08:50 AM
    So if I upgrade I might lose my unlock?
    Possibly. I am really not sure.

4.3 isn't a bad OS version to be stuck on indefinately, and in your case, you are looking at getting a new phone in a few months, which will be on some variant of 4.4.

Edit: The S4 is upgradeable to 4.4.2. The Note should have 4.4.4, If it were me, I would honestly wait.
    10-13-2014 08:56 AM
    Yea you have a point I definitely do not want to lose the unlock. I did not know upgrading would risk that. Im better off just waiting. Thanks for the help
    10-13-2014 08:59 AM
    Yea you have a point I definitely do not want to lose the unlock. I did not know upgrading would risk that. Im better off just waiting. Thanks for the help