Should I keep my Xperia Z3?

Nick_1020

Aug 27, 2013
Visit site
Help with making a decision

I'm new to Android. Have recently upgraded from the Lumia 1020 to the Xperia Z3. I really like the new phone but there have been quite a few issues and compromises along the way.

First off, I'm struggling with the camera. I used to take most of my 1020 photos in manual mode and the results were excellent...they were pretty good in auto mode too. I expected a trade off in image quality as no phone can match the 1020's sensor and reframing capabilities but most of my Z3 photos just seem crap. I've messed around with superior mode as well as the extremely confusing and bloated options in manual (which just seems to be a couple of changeable options plus numerous scene modes).

My latest issue is I'm down to 2GB of internal storage. Part of the reason for me switching was expandable memory support but at present, it's not possible to move large apps and games to the SD card. Rooting will resolve this but that seems troublesome for the Z3s at the moment from what I gather.

Then there's the lack of compatibility with the Garmin Connect Mobile app which was another big draw for me switching from WP. I'm aware the Z3 isn't listed on the compatible phone list for the app but the Z2 is, plus it meets the other requirements of Android version and Bluetooth capabilities. Garmin advise that it could still work if it meets those.

Other annoyances are the screen and rear casing have picked up some scratches after very careful use. The one of the screen is a couple of inches long, although it is very shallow. The keypad is taking some getting used to but perhaps that is to be expected coming from another platform.

Now..on to the good things.

The battery is just immense. After a full day of heavy use, I have over 50% left which is stunning.

The phone looks great and is very well spec'd so the performance is pretty impressive too.