Hi everyone, I'm purchasing an S6 next week and I have a few questions. I'm not a Android expert, so excuse my ignorance on some of these questions. I have been a Blackberry user for over 10 years and have a samsung tablet I sometimes use so I know enough to get by.

1. From what I have read there is a Samsung Knox which is a counter that will detect if the phone is rooted and it can possibly void the warranty. I have Att and I hate bloatware on my phones, so based on a previous post i made, it appears the only way to remove these apps is by rooting. Is there a way to flash a custom rom without tripping this counter or is it too soon to tell?

2. Lets say I keep the factory OS that came with the phone and I upgrade the OS, OTA when Samsung/ATT releases the next version of android in the future, is it possible to downgrade to the older version (or current lolipop) without tripping Knox and voiding any warranty or as soon as the phone is flashed with a new OS it is not under warranty anymore?

3. If i understand correctly Knox keeps track of how many times the phone has been flashed and if it has been rooted? If the phone is flashed with an older version of android released by Samsung/ATT is it still going to keep track of this or only when it is flashed with a custom rom?

4. Lastly what is the best backup software for backing up app data? I believe I had downloaded Keiss for my tablet but that is not compatible with S6 so Smart Switch and Helium I have read are the best options unless there are others you guys recommend.

Cheers
    04-26-2015 08:26 PM
    1. The phone is still pretty new....I don't think a root method has been found yet.

2. Assuming it's possible, the Knox counter shouldn't get tripped so long as you flash stock ROMs. The million dollar question will be if Samsung doesn't prevent rolling back an OS version.

3a. Yes.
    3b. The counter changes when rooting/flashing a custom ROM.

4. Helium might be your best bet.
    04-26-2015 08:53 PM