Why can't I auto-respond with Tasker?

A

AC Question

Hi, I'm new to Tasker, but I've written a few successful tasks that involved randomization and read/watched quite a few instructionals.

I would really, really like to create an auto-respond function that I can turn on at night. I read several tutorials on night auto-responders and driving auto-responders, and while I thought they made sense, I must be missing something. I even tried downloading the profile on the Tasker wiki, and that didn't work either.

I stripped down everything to the very basics just to see what would happen- still nothing. Here it goes.

Profile: Test

Received text
Type: Any
Sender: (my number) (for test purposes)

-> task: Test

Set to On.

Task: Test

1. Send SMS
Number %SMSRF
If %SMSRF ~ (my number)

That's it! I notice there is a red bar next to my number in the task, but I can't see why, and yes, it stays there if I enter a different number.

What am I missing?

Thank you.

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
I'm just getting into Tasker, so I can't really provide any assistance. However, I will give it a try and see if I can duplicate the action you want and provide assistance based on what I find.

fakeidentity

Aug 4, 2015
Visit site
Thanks! One thing I forgot to note...

In an earlier, more complicated version of this task (when I was actually trying to respond to other people and not just myself), I *was* able to make it work- just not automatically. In other words, if I hit the "play" button every time I got a text, I would send the response I wanted. But that kinda defeats the purpose of auto-respond.

The complicated version had the same profile, set to "on", but "sender" was (my friend).

The task looked like this:

1. Variable Randomized
Name %randomline min 1 Max 6

2. Read Line
File Download/Random Responses.txt line %randomline
to var %randomline

3. Send SMS
Number (my friend)

So... that worked! BUT... not automatically.

fakeidentity

Aug 4, 2015