Hi guys!

I am a professional entertainer and use my phone to connect to a sound system through bluetooth to play music, while on another channel is my wireless mic. I love this setup and never encounter any issues in combining the music and mic.

However for me to stop the music I have to walk backstage to my phone and press 'pause'. Which is annoying, and frankly not practical. If I plugged my phone directly into the sound system using an 1/8 inch input (auxiliary) I could connect a bluetooth remote. I don't want to do this, because the speaker is elevated, and my phone would have to sit on top of it. In short, I need to connect to the speaker through bluetooth. How can I play/pause and skip tracks on my phone without touching it if bluetooth isn't an option?

I have heard of people using basic smartwatches (like the pebble smartwatch), or other remotes to accomplish this. Would one of those work, even though I'm already connected to another device? If not, what other ways could I make that system of controlling music on my phone (remote, watch, anything really) without bluetooth? I would be open to any receivers connecting to the phone as well (ex: IR receiver to IR remote, but preferably small and convenient).

If anyone knows of any software that slowly fades out music when paused instead of just leaving a dead silence, that would be super helpful as well!

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate the help. It also assists me in my growing knowledge of smartphones and technology in general, which I adore.

My phone is a Verizon Wireless Samsung Note 3.

My speaker/sound system is a Samson Expedition XP106.

Thank you again!
    09-07-2015 09:52 PM