Brand new Sprint LG G pad 7.0 memory issue

Cinderela0629

Sep 20, 2015
Visit site
Newbie here. I searched and couldn't find an answer to my problem (hope I'm not being repetitive). I just got the G pad F 7.0 (running 5.0.1) on Sprint's free promotion and I am not loving it so far.

I installed a Sandisk 64G memory card immediately. Had the pad erase & reformat the card and it seems to be working normally. Shows under storage with the apps I moved to the SD card and the apps work fine. Moved everything to the SD card that had an option to move.

The issue is probably the same others have had. 8G internal memory and the mysterious "system data" is consuming 4.41 G of space! No other files or apps are consuming more than 9 megs of storage. (Also weird - I moved the Kindle for Android app to the SD card, but the new downloads are not going to the card, but to the internal storage.) There is now only 700 megs of available space, which is obviously nowhere near enough.

I had hoped to use this to replace 2 devices when traveling (laptop & Kindle), but unless this problem is solved, that can't happen.

I'm a total newbie to tablets and have never even thought about rooting a device. From the research I've been doing, it seems I may have no other choice.

I saw on another thread that someone attempted to solve the problem via Sprint/LG and didn't have any luck, so that probably won't work - and Sprint's customer service has always sucked, anyway.

Any suggestions or or hints to solve this problem would be greatly appreciated.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site