OK... I will admit it. I am a complete newbie here.

If it was Windows or even OS-X I could figure this out, but with Android I am left muttering Whiskey Tango Foxtrot to myself. I have my aunt's Android tablet and it is the most virus and malware infested thing I have ever seen. I threw every available cure I can think of at at it all to no avail. My usual tool of HitmanPro is not available for Android.

To add insult to injury, the recovery partition is also infected.

Doing a factory reset just reinstalls what little Kapersky and the other tools were able to remove.

That said, how can I wipe the hard drive completely and reinstall Lollipop?
    06-04-2016 08:57 AM
    Welcome to the forums. It seems that your only choice could be reflashing the stock ROM. Search in the XDA forums for that specific tablet.
    06-04-2016 09:05 AM
    Welcome to the forums. Can you describe in detail why you suspect the recovery partition is infected? What is the malware app that is installed? Can you provide some pictures of the appropriate screens?

Thread subscribed.
    06-04-2016 09:05 AM
    Depends on manufacturer and model. Some publish factory images on their website. A custom ROM if available could also help. Check out the forums for your device and using ADB.

Posted via nexus 6p project FI
    06-04-2016 10:41 AM
    Hmmmm... should be able to do that tonight. I will just have to figure out which AV program identified the problems.

I know that there several hijackers that redirect and reset her home page all the time. The whole tablet has turned into popup hell, with Dr. Oz's ugly face being the prime offender. I don't like him at the best of times, but seeing him every twenty seconds does not help matters much.