1. AC Question's Avatar
    My android phone is about to get a new owner, how shall I make sure so this person do not get access to my personal data? A simple factory reset do not seems to be enough from what I have been reading. So how about this.

    Step 1 I do a factory reset (goes fast, but do not seem to be a real factory reset)

    Step 2 I fill the phone with a lot of unpersonal data like apps to the phone max storage, in the purpose to that shall overwrite my "deleted" personal data

    Step 3 I do a encrypt

    Step 4 I do another factory reset, and while I have to write the same gmail account as before I do not have log into it so to speak, so I do not. Will this be enough?

    If it makes any different my phone is moto x style(pure)
    07-30-2016 03:31 PM
  2. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    Two factory resets should be more than enough.
    Factory reset, turn device off
    Turn device on and do a second factory reset.


    GRIM
    07-30-2016 04:48 PM
  3. Ketchis's Avatar
    Thanks for the reply Grimwald, then what I will do should be even more safer. The thing is that I have done 2 reset, but I have notice if i go through every step they suggest and log in to the google play store during the startup process, then at least all downloaded apps will still be there, and since all apps are there I wonder what else could be there? As mention you have to use the email account that was used the first time you started the device, and since that email is the same as for google play store and chrome maybe they are always linked and thefore always restorable?
    07-30-2016 06:42 PM
  4. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    You have lost me, the whole point of doing the factory reset was to remove all of your accounts and their information. Why would you re-enter that information The idea is to give it to the new owner, so that he can put his information into the device.

    GRIM
    07-30-2016 06:51 PM
  5. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    Make sure to remove your Sim!!
    GRIM
    07-30-2016 06:56 PM
  6. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    Turn the device off, remove your Sim, turn device on, immediately use the hardware buttons to do a factory reset and repeat for a second time for good measure.
    Do not add any information just do the reset and leave the device off for the new owner to install his Sim and add his accounts.

    GRIM
    07-30-2016 07:28 PM
  7. Ketchis's Avatar
    That screen come up no matter if you have the sim card in or not.
    07-31-2016 10:42 AM
  8. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    Of course it does, it wants to set up the device to be used.
    That doesn't mean for you to re-enter your info. When the screen, whatever screen displays, just use the hardware buttons to do a factory reset.

    GRIM
    07-31-2016 10:47 AM
  9. Ketchis's Avatar
    That screen come up after the factory reset, the gmail is connected to the device and you have to re-enter the same, you can not chose a new one or skip it.
    07-31-2016 11:04 AM
  10. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    I don't know of any other way to explain it to you, if it is asking for you to enter information, it is because the information isn't there. That is the point of doing the reset, so that someone else can put their information on the device. You have done enough resets to have over written anything which may have been recoverable. So you are safe, after the reset, turn the device off and if you haven't already done so remove the Sim.

    GRIM
    07-31-2016 11:18 AM
  11. Ketchis's Avatar
    The info is very much still there, despite the factory reset, it works as a lock. look at the video. after the "factory reset" it says,

    "The device have been reset. To continue sign in with a google account that was previously synced to this device."

    If you type any other email you can not access the phone after the factory reset, so you can not just simple write a new email, you have to write the same email and the know the password as well. If I do as you say and do not write that, it will be useless for the new owner unless he do a bypass.

    Btw there are tons of videos showing that factory reset are not very safe.
    07-31-2016 06:17 PM
  12. GRIMWALD's Avatar
    As an update and an FYI. I had to reset my wife's Note 5 last night, so I took the opportunity to play around a little. When I removed her lock screen pass code and fingerprint security before resetting her device. I had no problem setting up a different account with it.
    Now a Samsung is not a Moto but if the protection isn't there to trip the Factory reset protection, I don't see why it would trip the Moto's protection either.

    GRIM
    08-01-2016 07:56 AM
  13. Ketchis's Avatar
    Yeah IO actually find out that you could simple remove the account before the factory reset, and then it do not show. Still do not get why google have done this.
    08-01-2016 06:48 PM
  14. Ketchis's Avatar
    thanks for the help
    08-01-2016 06:52 PM

Similar Threads

  1. How do i turn off screen overlay on my s7 edge
    By AC Question in forum Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-09-2016, 11:23 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-31-2016, 12:03 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2016, 10:53 PM
  4. How do I find Application Manager?
    By AC Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2016, 05:53 PM
  5. Why is my screen grey and white
    By AC Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2016, 05:10 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD