ASUS FONEPAD screen goes dark while being used as a phone

Fonepad user

Aug 15, 2013
Visit site
Dear All,

I have been using the Asus fonepad for almost three months now. It is really good.

The only issue that I am facing that whenever I am using it to make a phone call or receive one the screen goes dark (completely dark) after one minute and therefore It prevents me from using the keypad in case I have to press some buttons to get into a company or a bank. (when you are listening to this recorded messages asking you to press number one for example of get through to a certain department).

Can you please help me how can I stop the screen from getting dark?

Thanks a lot in advance.

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Ambassador
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
Almost all phones do this, it's a feature so you don't press on screen buttons with your face! The phone should wake up and display when it is pulled away from your face. :)

Fonepad user

Aug 15, 2013
Visit site
Hi Rich,

I think that you mean the proximity sensor. However, I do not think that this is the case here. As the screen still is dark even after the call has ended and even if I am using the speaker so I am not having any contact with the screen while I am talking.

Top1ost

Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
[Solved]
Dear, I faced a problem with my Fonepad where the creen becomes black during phone calls (and keeps black after the end of call) and I fixed it:
At first I tried a number of Android apps to let the screen keep on during phone calls but none of them worked...