Considering purchasing the Infinity 700

bphillips79

Dec 11, 2012
Visit site
Hi folks. I'm a full time grad student and I purchased a Gateway netbook in August for use in class because I wanted something small and light. I knew that it was going to be a little slow, but it's much slower than I anticipated and is almost useless. I'm kicking myself because buying it ended up being $250 mistake. I had almost purchased an iPad, but ruled that out (no usb port, really Apple?). So I'm back to the drawing board. My wife and I looked at the Microsoft Surface last night, but after reading reviews I think it'd be best to stay away from that for a while. We both have android phones and I came across the Infinity 700. Initial reviews that I read seemed to really like it. But I'd like to get some user perspectives. I've been reading some on this forum and it looks like the most recent update of Jellybean addressed a lot of issues, but I'd like to hear from y'all to see what you think. So my questions are:

Did the update really address issues/problems?
Does it work reliably?
Is there a version of Office that works well? I don't mind buying an app, but I need it to be able to format docs in APA format and be able to send it to profs and keep the formatting.
Is there an app that will work with Adobe Digital Editions? I can "check out" electronic versions of my textbooks for free through the university library, but it uses Adobe Digital Editions and I don't see that in the Google Play store.

I should also mention that if I get the 700, I will also be purchasing the CORRECT (learned from others frustrations) keyboard.

Any thoughts are appreciated!

trt740

Oct 19, 2011
Visit site