Can I use Chromebook "like" a Desktop PC (monitor, keyboard "&" Notifications?)

jgb7

Dec 10, 2016
Visit site
Can I use Chromebook "like" a Desktop PC (monitor, keyboard "&" Notifications?)

Hi. Thanks for the forum !!!

I really want to replace my PC, and I find Android too painfully slow to run a dozen tabs. (I run 6+ regularly) and my computer is on almost all day. Also don't want a super hot device, which cheap Win10 devices do, and I just don't want more MicrosoftOS.

I need something perfectly quiet/fanless, so a Chrome is perfect. (my new nano fanless computer would be ok but it's acting strange and I can't bother with it).

And now that many Chromies will have Android, I can also use MS Word Free and Offline.

I don't game or install progs, I'm a writer so spend all my time either:
In Word, on Youtube or in Forums.

I "want" to use the Chromebook as the "tower", plug a monitor into it and keyboard and just run it close-lid for most of the day.

I "hope" to be able to receive EMAIL Notification while using AND while away (if the device goes to sleep/docked? still learning terms).
(did Lucid Sleep ever become a reality?)

I'm getting MIXED info... Some saying you CAN'T do it, some saying I've done this...
Some say you can not receive Email Notification while in Sleep Mode/Dock.
Some say use an extension to Keep Awake, and then an extension to receive Notifications. But this worries me, because not going to Sleep means it could get hot, it could continue access the SSD (reducing it's life).

IS ANYONE USING A CHROMEBOOK AS A DESKTOP REPLACEMENT in this (or some related) way?

I do not want a ChromeBOX...mainly because they all have FANS, and I'm told you'd still need an extension to keep awake.

Any help is appreciated ! I NEED to buy something VERY soon, but can't afford another mess-up if this won't work.

Thanks

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: Can I use Chromebook "like" a Desktop PC (monitor, keyboard "&" Notifications?)