EE4 OTA Root access

tarheelmike

May 25, 2011
Visit site
Beating a dead horse here...Can someone please give a short summary of how to get root access after EE4 OTA update on a stock brand new device? I posted yesterday trying to get a simple concise list of directions. I really want to do this the right way the first time. I just have not been able to find out the root process on a stock new device with EE4 OTA. Thank you for giving a guide for dummies...

hoppermi

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
Just flash jt1134's kernel w/odin. Same as before update. Or flash CWM w/ odin and then boot direct to recovery and install one of imnuts kernels.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk

Jumpie

May 28, 2011
Visit site
First, I've read a lot lately and I'm still new to this whole flashing via Odin stuff.

Here's my scenario:

I had ED1. Took OTA for ED2 before root. Used Odin and flashed back to ED1 and rooted. Took OTA ED2 update and still rooted.

I don't have voodoo or any custom kernels installed that I know of.

build.prop still says ED1

Now, I am getting the OTA for EE4. If I accept, will I still be rooted? If not, can I go back to to ED1 using Odin to root. Then what?

I hate to say it, there are so many posts out there that say this and that. I can't find one that's just straight forward and simple.

Many thanks!

spddfrk83

Jun 8, 2011
Visit site
Had the exact same scenario, only I accepted the OTA EE4, and yes I am still rooted, and the best part is wireless tether now works.

Halo

May 27, 2011
Visit site
Alrighty, after hours of reading I finally decided to take the EE4 update and move forward with rooting. Here is my scenario.

1) Was on stock rooted ED1
2) build.prop was edited to ED2 so I stopped getting the annoying notification
3) I edited back to ED1, accepted and installed the EE4 update (It skipped right over the EE2 update)
4) Followed DroidxCon's steps EXACTLY as he wrote them on flashing with ODIN.