Rooting my Razr HD

maxt_63

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
Hello Android community!
I am new to Android, my Razr HD being my first Android phone. I buddy of mine who is a tech genius (who is also an Apple fanboy) told me about rooting my phone. After researching, I have learned the pro's of rooting, especially for my phone because the Razr HD's have lots of bloatware. In reality, the main function I will be using the root for is pairing a SIXAXIS controller so that I can play MC4, Dead Trigger, Deadzone, etc. with a controller.I'm not fully aware of the cons. Here are some of my questions:
-I have read that doing OTA updates when the phone is rooted messes it up. Is an OTA just the standard software update? (exuse my n00b questions I have only been an Android user for a month) How can this be avoided? What are the steps to avoid it?
-How can I make sure I dont brick my phone?
-Is there a safe root out for the Razr HD?
-Will I have to re-root my phone after each update?
-What are the major cons of rooting?

Thanks so much.

Max.

Dreamliner330

Sep 3, 2011
Visit site
http://forums.androidcentral.com/droid-razr-hd/219074-guide-root-load-jb-razr-hd-hd-maxx.html

That thread has the best step by step rooting guide I've seen yet. I'd recommend following the Jelly Bean steps too, you may as well.

OTA stands for "Over The Air" and are the updates Verizon pushes out to the phones. They do one of these updates pretty rarely maybe 2 or 3 times in the entire phone life cycle. Typically an OTA update will undo the root, so its best to wait until it is available on the forums.

For the RAZR HD, there is a current OTA available for bugfixes and there is another coming soon for Jelly Bean. The link I provided above includes the Jelly Bean update if you follow the second section.

Just read the steps once, and follow the directions CAREFULLY, read each line twice and don't go to fast. That's how mistakes happen.

Best of luck.

maxt_63

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site