Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By kamax
  • 1 Post By carracerz14
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Do you have to root to control GPS?

I'm a very old noob, so please be gentle.
    We replaced our landline/internet connection with a Verizon Razr Maxx ICS 4.0.4 with a hotspot. Great. Decided that Smartapps wasn't quite enough and got Tasker. Great. The phone capabilities and Tasker capabilities appear to be capable of doing everything we need. Unfortunately, some of those capabilities are apparently blocked by Motorola/Google/Verizon and apparently will require rooting to get around.
    There are links on rooting which seems straightforward enough, but, once rooted, it appears that updating will be more difficult.
    Our particular issue is toggling the GPS on and off. I've found several links describing use of Tasker and GPS, but they all require rooting. Does anyone know of any way around this?
    If not, what apps? are needed to do a backup, root, backup, unroot, update, backup, etc....
    I've seen a lot of posts on pieces of this problem, but I'm still concerned because it appears that any variation in the Motorola/Google/Verizon mindset could cause problems. Am I wrong?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by hertfordkc; 07-24-2012 at 05:42 PM.

Default Re: Do you have to root to control GPS?

Ginger Bread comes with a GPS toggle widget along with some others. Are you saying ICS does not? I'd not heard that and I'm still on GB, so maybe I'm not much help.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

The ICS user can control the GPS and other location services with several (3?) keystrokes, but apparently not with SmartApps or Tasker. I really need to control the GPS setting via Tasker, principally to reduce battery useage.
    The WIFI service and Hotspot are among others suffering from requiring direct user action.

Press Apps/widgets/Power control put that on home screen, let you turn GPS off and on one press.