Supa noob

darkSSide

Feb 15, 2012
Visit site
All right just switched over from a basic phone to an Android phone. I'm a supa noob to anything Android or hacking/rooting. Where is a good place to start? I'm getting RAZR's for me and the wifey,which should arrive by tommorrow. Any help is appreciated.
Thanx

bubbadog

Jun 28, 2011
Visit site
Try the phone as is to see if you like it before you hack it up. I have enjoyed my stock phone and it does everything I need and more.

darkSSide

Feb 15, 2012
Visit site
I played with it at the store and like it enough. But if I root it doesn't it unlock some apps that wouldn't normally work with it as is?

GSII_medic16

Feb 15, 2012
Visit site
Am with you DarkSside... am looking to be able to root my phone and mod it to be faster? and have other specifications.. but i am such a newbie i have no idea where to start!

androidcore

Mar 11, 2011
Visit site
Whoa.. halt.. stop. Beeeeeeepppppp!

I suggest you learn rooting and its pros and cons before ever ever learning how to.... don't bake a cake unless you know how to use the oven!

Search android central.. tons of "what is rooting" articles.. Google search too.... and obviously, there really the articles about how to root the DROID RAZR .... but like the cake, you can follow the recipe but if you don't know the oven, then you can ruin the cake and maybe even the oven... we all had to learn this way...

Rooting bypasses the manufacturers and carriers lock on the phone, thus granting you only 1 thing... admin super user access to Android... it install 1 app only---super user. All of your mods and advanced customization comes from rooted apps, like titanium backup and set CPU and ad-free and etc.. how you work the apps is your own doing. Like setting the oven temperature. Mess with it the wrong way, and you'll turn the cake (phone) into a useless brick.